

# 2024 AIA Rochester's Emerging Architect of the Year Award - Call for Entries

Sponsored by: RIT - Department of Architecture, Golisano Institute for Sustainability

AIA Rochester is pleased to solicit nominations for its annual Emerging Architect of the Year Award. Established in 2009, this award is intended to recognize the efforts of emerging leaders within the chapter who have contributed their time and talent towards the improvement of the architectural community and have made considerable or unique advances in their professional career.

Nominees shall be evaluated based on the level of impact that they have imparted on the architectural community through the facets of contribution to the profession, commitment to the chapter, service and outreach to the community, and advocacy for the profession. Contributions to the public community, architectural profession, and/or chapter should be on a volunteer basis. Activities for which the nominee received compensation and/or are considered part of the nominee's employment shall not be considered.

## Eligibility

All architects, licensed five years or less, and Associate AIA members who are in good standing with AIA Rochester are eligible to be nominated. At the time of nomination the recipient must be active in the profession of architecture by means of lawful employment/consultation in the architecture community within the region served by AIA Rochester.

#### Submission and Consideration

Applications must be received by no later than the date indicated on the nomination form. This is intended to give the Jury adequate time to fully consider and thoroughly evaluate all nominees. Annually, individuals will be considered after the Chapter receives a written submission from any AIA Rochester member in good standing of the AIA Rochester Chapter. Individuals may self-nominate. In addition, the current Chapter President and Board of Directors may also present individuals for the Jury's consideration and the Jury may consider any other eligible individual deemed worthy of the award. Candidates can continue to be considered each year and amendments to their submissions can be made at the discretion of the candidate, with the candidate's consent.

# Jury

RIT shall convene a jury of a minimum of three members, which shall meet to consider nominations for this award. The Jury shall meet as required to consider all nominees beginning a minimum of (30) calendar days before the scheduled presentation of the award. In the interest of continuity, the Jury Chair should attempt to retain one member from the previous year's Jury. The Jury may select one individual by a clear majority of the entire Jury. At the completion of the Jury's deliberations, the Jury Chair will report the results to the Chapter President and the

Executive Director of AIA Rochester, who will in turn present the Jury's findings to the Board of Directors for acceptance.

#### Notification of Award

The winner will be notified by the AIA Rochester Chapter President and invited as a guest of AIA Rochester to the Chapter's Annual Meeting in October, where the winner be publicly recognized and receive the award.

#### **Publication**

The name of the recipient will be published in the AIA Rochester Chapter Newsletter and in any other publication deemed to be appropriate. A press release will be sent to the Democrat & Chronicle, Rochester Business Journal, AIA New York State and AIA National. This shall occur in advance of the presentation to act as notification to the membership and as an invitation to attend the award presentation.

#### **Award**

The recipient will receive a specially designed plaque and a certificate, signed by the Chapter President and Jury Chair, to commemorate this award as well as two complimentary tickets to the AIA Rochester Chapter Annual Meeting where the plaque and certificate will be presented.

## Past Recipients

- 2009 Allen Rossignol, AIA
- 2010 Michelle Murnane, AIA
- 2011 Daniel Edgell, AIA
- 2012 Nicole Martin, AIA
- 2013 Jason Streb, AIA
- 2014 Ken Glazer, AIA
- 2015 Michael Short, AIA
- 2016 Kristin Schuster, Purdy, AIA
- 2017 Dustin Welch, AIA
- 2018 Jessica Kruse, AIA
- 2019 Jamie Bucci, AIA
- 2020 Barbara Burke, Associate AIA
- 2021 Stacy Welch, AIA
- 2022 Sara DeSalvo, AIA
- 2023 Elizabeth Reynolds, AIA

Questions may be directed to AIA Rochester Executive Director Michelle Murnane, AIA at mmurnane@aiaroc.org.